Friday, June 23, 2017
Home » California Counties » Yolo County

Yolo County

Yolo County is situated in California’s northern section. The county shares borders with several other California counties including Sacramento, Solano, Napa, Lake, Colusa, and Sutter. The largest city in the county is Davis, although the seat of the county is Woodland.

Possession, Use, and Cultivation of Marijuana in Yolo County

Yolo County is subject to the same laws that govern the rest of California with regard to the possession, use, and cultivation ofYolo County marijuana. Under these laws, the possession of small amounts of marijuana has been decriminalized, which means that individuals may posses 28.5 grams of marijuana or less without being subject to criminal prosecution. Possession of marijuana in such amounts is considered a mere civil infraction, for which the offender will only have to pay a $100 fine. However, the possession of marijuana in amounts exceeding 28.5 grams is a criminal offense, for which the offender faces a possible 6-month jail term and a fine of $500.

Under California’s marijuana laws, patients, caregivers, and owners of legal dispensaries are allowed to cultivate and process marijuana legally within limits. Patients may apply for a state-issued marijuana ID card upon the recommendation of a doctor. This card protects the individual from criminal prosecution and allows him or her to cultivate and process as much as 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud. This same limit applies to caregivers for every patient in his or her care. Owners of legal dispensaries may also maintain as many plants as necessary to meet the needs of medical marijuana patients as mandated by California marijuana laws. All other individuals found to have cultivated and processed marijuana illegally face a possible 16-month prison term.

Yolo County residents are also prohibited from selling marijuana, which is a felony offense regardless of the amount of marijuana in question. This offense merits a 2- to 4-year prison term, which is increased to 3 to 5 years for sales of marijuana to a minor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest