San Diego County is located in California’s southwestern section. It is the mainland United States’ southwestern-most county, and has its county seat in San Diego. It is the second most populous county in California (after Los Angeles county), with a population of 3,095,313 as estimated in the 2010 census. One of its most distinctive features is the extensive coastline and the mild Mediterranean climate.
San Diego County Marijuana Law Restrictions
San Diego County is subject to state laws regarding marijuana possession, use, and cultivation. Under the law, possession of 28.5 grams of marijuana or less is a civil infraction warranting only a $100 fine. For possession involving amounts of more than 28.5 grams, the offender will be charged with criminal possession, which carries a potential prison term of 6 months and a $500 fine.
California laws also allow medical marijuana patients and caregivers to cultivate and process marijuana although only in limited amounts. A patient will first have to get the approval of a doctor for medical marijuana treatment, and apply for a state-issued marijuana ID card. This guard protects the bearer from criminal prosecution stemming from the cultivation and processing of marijuana. Medical marijuana patients are allowed a maximum of 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud, which is the same limit for each patient under a caregiver. The unauthorized cultivation and processing of marijuana is a criminal offense for which the offender may be sentenced to sixteen months in state prison.
California also prohibits the selling of marijuana in any amount. The exceptions to this law are the legal dispensaries that are allowed to operate in the county. The felony sale of marijuana is punishable by 2 to 4 years in prison, but of the marijuana is sold to a minor, the sentence may be raised to 3 to 5 years.