Humboldt County is located on the far North Coast of California, northwards of San Francisco. The county’s population was estimated at just over 134,600 in the 2010 census. The seat of the county is Eureka, which is also the most populous community.
Humboldt County Marijuana Policies
Like most counties in California, Humboldt County is governed by the standard law that limits possession to 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud. However, the county is also subject to a local law that further defines the legally allowable possession to three pounds of bud or equivalent. The law also stipulates a 100-square-feet limit on the canopy of the growing area, although there is no limit to the number of plants grown or the lighting to be used.
Caregivers of patients approved for medical marijuana use are also subject to limitations with regard to the possession amount depending on the number of patients in his or her care.
The previous laws limited the number of plants to 99, within a canopy no larger than 100 square feet. Growers were also previously limited to 3 pounds of bud and 1500 watts of illumination.
Humboldt County residents are also subject to the California law that stipulates a maximum possession of 28.5 grams of marijuana, which is considered only a civil infraction with an associated $100 fine. In excess of this amount however, the offender is liable for a six-month jail term and a $500 fine.
As a California county, Humboldt County is also subject to state laws that forbid the cultivation, processing, and sale of marijuana in any amount. The exceptions to these laws are patients approved for medical marijuana use by a physician, and the caregivers of such patients. Even so, these individuals are subject to the laws regarding possession and cultivation as outlined above.