Monday, May 20, 2024
Home » California Counties » Napa County

Napa County

Napa County is located just to the north of California’s San Pablo Bay. Along with 8 other counties, Napa County comprises the group of Bay Area countries in San Francisco. It is also one of the four counties of North Bay. The name “Napa County” may also refer to the Napa Metropolitan Area. In the 2010 census, the population of Napa County was estimated to be about 136,484. The seat of the county is Napa, and the county itself is one of the original California counties created when the state was established in 1850.

Napa County’s Marijuana Laws

Napa CountyAs with most other counties in California, legal possession of marijuana in Napa County is limited to only certain individuals and only in limited amounts. A patient may be allowed to cultivate and process marijuana for personal use upon the approval of a physician and after securing a state-issued marijuana ID card. Caregivers may also cultivate and process marijuana for each patient under their care. For patients and caregivers, the legal limit to the amount of marijuana that can be cultivated and processed is 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud.

Even without being a medical marijuana patient or a caregiver, possession of marijuana is decriminalized if the amount is less than 28.5 grams or less. This offense is only considered a civil infraction, for which the penalty is a $100 fine. However, possession of 28.5 grams of marijuana is a criminal offense for which the offender may be jailed for up to 6 months and fined $500.

The sale of marijuana is illegal in Napa County regardless of the amount. This offense is considered a felony, and the offender may be imprisoned for 2 to 4 years. If the marijuana is sold to a minor, the offender may be imprisoned for 3 to 5 years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest