Riverside County is one of two counties in California that comprise the Inland Empire. The seat of the county is Riverside, from which the county also gets its name. Located in Southern California, Riverside County is situated with Orange County to the west, La Paz County to the east, and by San Diego County and Imperial County to the southwest and southeast respectively. Located inland from Los Angeles County, Riverside County is situated just south of San Bernardino County.
Riverside County’s Marijuana Policies Under California Law
Under California law, Riverside County residents may possess as much as 28.5 grams of marijuana before it is considered a criminal offense. Possession of marijuana in amounts of less than 28.5 grams is a civil infraction for which the offender will have to pay a $100 fine. For possession involving more than 28.5 grams or less of marijuana, the offender may be subject to a 6-month prison sentence and a $500 fine.
Like other California counties, it is subject to California law, and thus it is illegal to cultivate and process marijuana in Riverside. This offense is punishable by a 16-month prison term. However, marijuana may be cultivated and processed by patients that have been prescribed marijuana by a licensed physician, and the caregivers of such patients. Medical marijuana patients and caregivers are legally allowed to cultivate and process a maximum of 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud.
Riverside County’s Marijuana Sales Law
Selling marijuana is illegal in Riverside County, with the only exceptions being the legal dispensaries that are allowed to operate in the county. Unauthorized selling of any amount of marijuana in Riverside County is a felony offense that may result in a 2- to 4-year prison term. If the marijuana has been sold to a minor, the sentence may increase to 3 to 5 years. Offenders under the age of 21 years old may also have their driver’s licenses revoked for a year.