Yuba County is located in California’s Central Valley region, just north of Sacramento. Large portions of the country run along the Feather River. In the 2010 census, the population of Yuba County was estimated at approximately 72,155. Part of the Greater Sacramento area, Yuba County’s seat is Marysville.
California State Marijuana Laws Govern Yuba County
Under California laws – which govern Yuba County and most other Californian counties – the possession of marijuana in small amounts is a non arrestable offense. The cut-off amount of marijuana that may be possessed by an individual is 28.5 grams. For amounts less than 28.5 grams, the offender will only be charged with a civil infraction, which entails a $100 fine. However, possession of marijuana in amounts exceeding 28.5 grams is a criminal offense. This carries a possible jail term of up to 6 months and a fine of $500.
Under California marijuana law, the cultivation and processing of marijuana is illegal in Yuba County, unless it is done by patients, caregivers, and owners of legal dispensaries. Patients may be allowed to cultivate and process up to 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud after receiving a doctor’s recommendation for medical marijuana and after securing a state-issued marijuana ID card. This card protects medical marijuana patients from criminal prosecution arising from the cultivation and processing of marijuana. Caregivers of medical marijuana patients are subject to the same limitations for every patient in his or her care.
The unauthorized cultivation and processing of marijuana in Yuba County is subject to a 16-month prison sentence. The sale of marijuana is also illegal in Yuba County under California marijuana laws regardless of the amount of marijuana in question. This is considered a felony offense for which the offender may receive a 2- to 4-year prison term. If the marijuana is sold to a minor, the offender faces a 3- to 5-year prison sentence.