Plumas County is located in California’s Sierra Nevada region. Deriving its name from the Spanish phrase for “Feather River”, the county is notable for the Río de las Plumas that flows right through it. In the 2010 census, the population of Plumas County was estimated at about 20,007, which marked a slight decrease from the 2000 population of 20,824. The seat of Plumas County is Quincy.
Possession of Marijuana in Plumas County
Possession of marijuana in Plumas County is a non-arrestable offense, for which the individual may only be charged with a civil infraction involving a $100 fine. However, possession of marijuana in excess of 28.5 grams merits a 6-month jail term and a fine of $500.
Plumas County’s Cultivation Laws
Under California laws, certain individuals may cultivate and process limited amounts of marijuana legally in Plumas County, as other California counties. These individuals include patient that have been prescribed medical marijuana by a suitably licensed physician, or their caregivers. Patients will have to be in possession of a state-issued marijuana ID card in order to be exempted from prosecution. Caregivers will also need a permit in order to cultivate and process marijuana legally, although the legal amount in both cases is 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud. Or caregivers, this limit applies to each patient under his or her care. The unauthorized cultivation and processing of marijuana in Plumas County is a criminal offense that may result in a 16-month prison term for the offender.
Marijuana Sales in Plumas County
It is illegal to sell marijuana in California, which means that it is also illegal in Plumas County. The exceptions to this law are legal dispensaries that are allowed by law to provide medical marijuana for the needs for the medical needs of their patients. Unauthorized sale of marijuana is a felony that may involve a 2- to 4-year prison sentence, or a 3- to 5-year prison sentence if the marijuana is sold to a minor.