Monterey County is located on California’s Pacific coast. Monterey Bay’s southern portion is comprised by the northwestern section of the county. In the 2010 census, the population of Monterey County was estimated at about 415,000 residents. The largest city in Monterey County is Salinas, which also serves as the county seat. A sizeable percentage of the county’s income is derived from the agricultural industry.
Marijuana Laws in Monterey County
Non-arrestable possession of marijuana in Monterey County is limited to amounts of 28.5 grams or less. For possession in these amounts, offenders will be charged only a civil infraction, for which there is a $100 fine. If a person is found in possession of more than 28 grams of marijuana however, he or she may be charged with criminal possession. This offense merits a 6-month jail term and a $500 fine.
California marijuana law with regard to marijuana cultivation or processing also applies to Monterey County residents. This offense may be punishable by a 16-month prison sentence. In order to be exempt from these laws, an individual will have to secure a state-issued medical marijuana ID card upon the recommendation of a physician. Caregivers may also be allowed to cultivate and process marijuana for the needs of patients under their care. The legal limit for the cultivation and processing of medical marijuana is 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud.
Selling any amount of marijuana is illegal under California law, and this applies to Monterey County as well. Offenders may be charged with a felony that carries with it a 2- to 4-year prison sentence. If the marijuana is sold to a minor, the offender may face up to 3 to 5 years in prison. If the offender is below 21 years of age, his or her driver’s license may be suspended for one year.