Marijuana Policies in Glenn County
Like all California countries, Glenn County is governed by laws that limit possession to 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud. These laws also stipulate a civil infraction for possession of marijuana in amounts of 28.5 grams or less, meriting only a $100 fine. However, possession in excess of this amount will merit a six-month jail term and a $500 fine.
The California marijuana laws also apply to the cultivation and processing of marijuana in any amount, an offense which is punishable by a 16-month prison term. In Glenn County, as in any other California county, the only individuals exempted from this law are patients approved for medical marijuana use and their caregivers.
Glenn County’s Newest Marijuana Law
On top of these laws, Glenn County residents are also governed by a new law passed in February, 2012, which have to do with the growing of marijuana in the county, particularly with regard to their visibility. Under these new laws, possession of marijuana is no longer an infraction but a misdemeanor. This essentially makes marijuana cultivation issues the responsibility of law enforcement authorities and not code enforcement officers for whom the task was previously assigned.
The new laws also stipulate that a marijuana plot should be enclosed by a fence 6-feet or less. The use of grow lights is also banned, and the plants shouldn’t be visible to the public. Other restrictions include the placement of plants no less than 20 feet away from the neighboring property. Depending on the size of the property where the marijuana is to be cultivated, there are also restrictions with regard to the distance of the grow location from schools and other public property.