El Dorado County is located in the California’s legendary Gold Country in the Sierra Nevada mountain ranges. El Dorado County’s population was estimated at just more than 181,000 in the 2010 census, and the seat of the county is located in Placerville. Like many other communities in California, El Dorado County has a sizeable population of medical marijuana patients as well as an indeterminate number of casual users.
El Dorado County’s Marijuana Laws
El Dorado County has a very specific set of laws governing the possession, use, and cultivation of marijuana. Patients or caregivers are only allowed to maintain a maximum of twenty outdoor plants from March to July and 10 outdoor plants from July to October. Indoors, patients or caregivers are allowed by law to maintain a maximum of ten vegetative plants, one mother plant, ten flowering plants, and a pound of bud for every patient. These laws were revised from the previous laws that stipulated a limit of six marijuana plants and two pounds of processed bud. Caregivers of marijuana patients are also allowed by law to possess marijuana in amounts sufficient for the needs of a single household’s patients and three other patients.
California State Law Restricitons on El Dorado County
Like other California counties, El Dorado County is governed by laws that stipulate a legally allowable possession of 28.5 grams of marijuana or less. This offense merits only a civil infraction, although the offender will be required to pay a $100 fine. However, possession in excess of this amount merits a six month jail term and a $500 fine.
El Dorado County residents are also prohibited from cultivating or processing any amount of marijuana under California marijuana laws. This offense merits a sixteen month prison term. The only exceptions to this law are patients approved for medical marijuana by a licensed physician or the caregivers of such patients. Under California laws, patients and caregivers will have to possess a state-issued marijuana ID card.