Fresno County is located in California’s Central Valley, with Stockton and Bakersfield as its closest neighbors to the north and to the south respectively. In the 2010 census, Fresno County’s population was estimated at more than 930,4000, making it the tenth most heavily populated county in California. The seat of the county itself, Fresno, is the fifth largest city in the state.
Fresno County’s Marijuana Laws
Like all counties in California, Fresno County has traditionally been governed by state laws that limit possession to 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants in addition to 8 ounces of bud. In July 2011 however, a county ordinance was passed that drastically restricted cultivation and banned dispensaries outright. Under this new law, individuals or caregivers who wish to cultivate marijuana in Fresno County are required to have a medical marijuana cultivation license.
Furthermore, there are strict limits to where and how marijuana can be cultivated. The area will have to be secure with a lock and it must be in an industrial zone not less than 1,000 feet from the nearest school, park, or non-industrial establishment. Individuals who cultivate marijuana in Fresno County are also limited to a maximum of 99 plants.
In addition to the county laws, Fresno County residents are also governed by California laws that define the amount at which marijuana possession will be regarded a criminal offense. In amounts of 28.5 grams or less, marijuana possession merits only a civil infraction and a $100 fine. In excess of this amount however, marijuana possession involves a $500 fine and up to six months in jail.
Marijuana cultivation is also severely restricted under California law, which means that it is severely restricted in Fresno County as well. Apart from medical marijuana patients and caregivers, residents found to have cultivated marijuana will merit a sixteen month prison sentence.