Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Home » California Counties » Santa Barbara County

Santa Barbara County

Santa Barbara County is located in California’s southern section on the Pacific coast. As estimated in the census of 2010, the county had a population of approximately 423,895. The largest city in Santa Barbara County is Santa Maria, and the seat of the county is Santa Barbara.

Marijuana Possession, Cultivation, and Distribution in Santa Barbara County

Santa Barbara CountyUnder California law, marijuana possession, use, and cultivation is allowed in Santa Barbara County and most other California counties with specific restrictions. The only people allowed to cultivate and process marijuana in Santa Barbara County are medical marijuana patients that have been recommended marijuana by a licensed physician. The limit for such patients is 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud, which also applies to caregivers for each patient under their care.

Even possession of marijuana is a non arrestable offense in Santa Barbara County, provided it is less than 28.5 grams. Below this cut-off, the offense is only a civil infraction meriting a $100 fine. Fort possession in excess of 28.5 grams however, the offender will be charged a criminal offense, which carries a 6-month jail term and a $500 fine.

The unauthorized cultivation and processing of marijuana in Santa Barbara County is a criminal offense which may result in a 16-month prison sentence. Only medical marijuana patients, caregivers and legal dispensaries are legally allowed to cultivate and process marijuana and only in limited amounts. Caregivers may cultivate and process marijuana up to a maximum of 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud.

Apart from legal dispensaries allowed to operate under state law, the sale of marijuana is illegal in Santa Barbara County. This is a felony offense that merits a 2- to 4-year prison sentence, which is increased to 3 to 5 years for selling marijuana to a minor. For offenders younger than 21, the penalty may also include a 1-year suspension of the driver’s license.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest