Placer County is encompassed by California’s Sacramento Valley and Sierra Nevada regions. The county is located in what is known as the Gold Country. Placer County stretches from the Sacramento suburbs to Lake Tahoe and continues on the border of Nevada. One of the fastest growing counties in the state in terms of population, Placer County was estimated to have about 348,432 residents according to the 2010 census. The seat of the county is Auburn.
Placer County’s Marijuana Laws
As in most California counties, marijuana possession in amounts of 28.5 grams or less has been decriminalized in Placer County. This is not considered an arrestable offense, and the only consequence to this civil infraction is a fine of $100. However,
The cultivation and processing of marijuana in California is an illegal offense, for which the offender may be imprisoned for a period of 16 months. However certain individuals are allowed to cultivate and process marijuana in Placer County within certain limits. These include patients that have been approved for medical marijuana use by a licensed physician and the caregivers of such patients. These individuals may cultivate and process marijuana in amounts of 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud.possession of marijuana in excess of 28.5 grams is an areas offense, for which the offender may be imprisoned for up to 6 months and be required to pay a $500 fine.
The sale of marijuana in California – and by extension, in Placer County – is illegal under state law. The only exceptions to this law are legal dispensaries that have the requisite license to provide medical marijuana for the needs of their patients. The unauthorized sale of marijuana in Placer County is a felony offense for which the offender may be imprisoned for a period of 2 to 4 years or 3 to 5 years, depending on whether or not the marijuana was sold to a minor.