Mono County is located in California’s east central section with the Sierra Nevada mountain ranges to the west. The county is located between Yosemite National Park and Nevada, and had an estimated population of 14,202 according to the 2010 census. The seat of the county is Bridgeport.
Marijuana Laws in Mono County
As in other California counties, possession of 28.5 grams of marijuana or less is not a criminal offense in Mono County. Up to this amount, only a civil infraction will be charged to the offender. This charge merits a mere $100 fine. Possession of marijuana in excess of this amount is a criminal offense however, which merits a jail term of 6 months and a $500 fine.
Mono County is also governed by California’s marijuana law that prohibits the cultivation and processing of marijuana regardless of amount. This offense merits a 16-month prison term. The exceptions to this law are individuals who are legally allowed to possess, use, and cultivate marijuana according to state marijuana laws. Such patients will need to have a state-issued marijuana ID card in order to be exempt from criminal prosecution, and they are limited to 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud.
This law applies to caregivers of medical marijuana patients as well. Caregivers in Mono County are allowed by law to maintain 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud for every patient in their care.
The sale of marijuana in any amount is illegal in Mono County. This offense is punishable by a 2- to 4-year prison sentence, with the penalty bumped up to 3 to 5 years of the sale is made to a minor. Individuals under the age of 21 years old caught selling marijuana may also have their driver’s licenses suspended for a year.