Restrictions of California State Law on Lassen County
Like most counties in California, Lassen County is governed by both state and local marijuana laws. Under California law, possession of marijuana in amounts of 28.5 grams or less is considered a mere civil infraction – which is not an arrestable offense – meriting only a $100 fine. Possession in excess of this amount is a criminal offense however, meriting a potential 6-month jail term and a $500 fine.
Lassen County is also bound by California law that prohibits the cultivation and processing of marijuana, an offense punishable by a 16-month prison term. However, medical marijuana patients and caregivers of such patients are legally allowed to grow marijuana and process it, although they are limited to the standard 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants and 8 ounces of bud as mandated in all of California.
In Lassen County as with the entire state of California, the sale of marijuana is a felony offense regardless of amount. This offense carries a 2- to 4-year prison term, with a 3- to 5-year prison term for offenders found guilty of selling marijuana to a minor. Offenders younger than 21 years old may also have their licenses suspended for a period of one year.
Lassen County’s Policy on Marijuana Cultivation
There is also a Lassen County Code that prohibits the cultivation of marijuana in specific areas of the county, unless the marijuana is intended to supply the needs of qualified medical marijuana patients. Under this code, “cultivation” encompasses from actually planting and growing the plant to drying and processing the plant. The offense is considered a misdemeanor, meriting a $1,000 fine and/or a 6-month jail term. Offenders are also liable for the costs of the legal proceeding.